Review of blogs 2009 July/Aug


A review of July’s & August’s blogs

July

Only one thing to blog about today. I miss you Michael x x

For as much as it hath pleased Almighty God of his great mercy to take unto himself the soul of our dear brother here departed, we therefore commit his body to the ground; earth to earth, ashes to ashes, dust to dust; in sure and certain hope of the Resurrection to eternal life, through our Lord Jesus Christ; who shall change our vile body, that it may be like unto his glorious body, according to the mighty working, whereby he is able to subdue all things to himself.

Heal The World
Make It A Better Place
For You And For Me
And The Entire Human Race
There Are People Dying
If You Care Enough For The Living
Make A Better Place For You And For Me

Well if you fell for that get a fucking grip. As Sky News tend to say now “And in other news today”

My Sayers idea whilst scoffing a sausage roll on my dinner today was when its Radio City’s give a child a chance weekend I was gonna try and organise a sponsored sausage roll crawl. I was thinking of getting Radio City onboard along with Sayers. Good publicity for both. I was gonna start at Bootle strand and work my way into town. I plan to go to every Sayers in town before heading out the south end finishing off in Speke. The plan would be to get sponsorship by setting an online page up. I could also collect donations on the day. I could tweet and update on facebook throughout the day and also Radio City could give updates and do an outside broadcast and even one up the tower with me munching one from the branch at the bottom of the tower. Before Radio City bought that I was gonna buythat as my house after I won the lottery. All back to mine after the 051. Great view and Sayers underneath. Sayers would have to provide me one small sausage roll in each shop. I was gonna walk so 9am start in Bootle. This would help offset possibly the largest single calorific intake in one day of my life. I think I might email Sayers and pitch it to them. It would be quite ironic if I was to become the sausage roll man of Liverpool.

What a shitty days weather. Its meant to be the middle of July but the weather is like October. On the bright side I am off to Spain with the family tomorrow so I hope it pisses down for the next week. The forecast is looking in my favour. Elizabeth was getting a few things ready for the holiday and decided to put a CD on. She only put on Now Thats What I Call Christmas. Driving home for Christmas was the offending song. That was enough to send me the offy for six cans of bud to ease myself into holiday mode. Its such a joy leaving work for a week even if I did have to stay until 4pm to make my flexi leave. Just been converting some DVD’s for Elizabeth to put on her ipod touch. Now at the age of five I think I owned a prized cassette player. I had such cutting technology as either hold the thing up to tape some Boney M jukebox singles or go for the tape the charts of the radio option. Both required a fair degree of luck that your mother wouldnt walk in the room and speak during recording. Ahh the memories of the late 70’s and early 80’s. The joys of being allowed in my parents room to watch the black and white portable as a treat to watch “Thats Life” on a Sunday night. The next giant leap was uprading our binatone pong game for a ZX Spectrum. The walkman was next on the scence and the mid 80’s brought us high speed dubbing. You could record tape to tape at half the time !!! Handy for making copies of Genesis “Invisible Touch.” Who would of thought that I would end up with a phone like the Iphone 3GS. A long way from my first cassette player. I cant even begin to think what I will be buying in another 25 years. I wonder if being 60 then I will have slipped into I cant possibly work thease things mode ?

August

I finished the weekend off by having a few beers on Sunday night and trying a beer called Tyskie which was recommended by @happytyskie on Twitter. I noticed that the local late shop had started stocking 500ml cans so I bought two to taste on Sunday. Now the first thing that struck me is that the alcohol percentage of the drink is 5.6%. I must admit this was worrying me because if you go over 5% for a beer you can normally taste it. Here is a little extract about Tyskie I found on the net.

TYSKIE GRONIE – POLAND BEER

Tyskie is a brand of beer from Poland. It is manufactured in Tychy by the Kompania Piwowarska company, a subsidiary of SABMiller. It is currently one of the best selling brands of beer in Poland, with a share of over 14.7% of the Polish market in September 2004 (AC Nielsen). The brewery was founded in 1629 and is said to have produced beer constantly ever since.

Gronie continuous a centuries’ long tradition of beer brewing at Tychy, dating back to 17th century. Gronie’s enthusiasts appreciate most of all its mild hop aroma, golden colour and the thick, white head. This beer’s exquisite taste and aroma excel among Polish beers of similar type.

Extract: 11.7 percent. Alcohol: 5.6 percent

So after a lunch time snooze I felt refreshed and went over the gym. Second time and two games of footy this week so the new regime has started well despite what looks like beer Fri, Sat and Sun! I was doing my 2.5km on the rowing machine which looks over the car park the David Lloyd gym when again I noticed what seemed to be a perfectly able bodied person drive away from a disability spot. The disability spots in David Lloyd are the prime spots in the car park. Often a busy times you can find yourself a good couple of mins walk away from the gym entry. Now I know this person might of had a disability but I have seen this too many times at this gym. If you have a disability then I suggest you join the Speke David Lloyd. The healing powers are quite amazing. More often than not its disabled customers come out of the gym and drive away in their cars healed. Not only that the quality of cars they have is very good indeed, often driving away in those large cars that have no real reason to be on the road. You know the ones. The ones that block the entire school run because mum has run the kids to school and she has never been behind the wheel of a monster truck before. My row takes about 11 mins. Now there was not only one disabled miracle today but a second occured. This time it was disabled bay 1. This is the creme de la creme of parking spots in the gym. This miracle was special because there were three girls about 25 years old. I am gonna be fair and assume all three were disabled when they went into the gym but all came out cured. From now on I think I will call my gym David Lourdes gym.

Charlotte my youngest daughter went for her two year old check up. Everything was fine but she was on one the 91st percentile for her weight. Now she is a bonny baby but I would not call her fat, however her older sister Elizabeth (5 in 2 weeks) said before ” your the best mummy in the world, your the best daddy in the world and your the fattest sister in the world” Sisterly love eh.

I left the council this is how it started. It was Wednesday 3rd January 2001 when I went to the municipal office to start my new job in Benefits. I managed to get into benefits football after work on the Thursday. Only 10 minutes had gone when I trod on the ball and that was the ankle ligaments gone, the first of numerous benefits injuries on the Eldonian astro pitch (Ankle ligaments, infected knee, thigh strain, knocking myself out and getting whiplash and the finally a knee cartilage that required surgery) So Friday I phoned in sick and the following Monday it was crutches on the 82 bus to finish off my 2 weeks training. It was then straight in at the deep end and assessing in Tinlings building on Sue Kenny’s team with my new work colleagues and the fleas and mice

So fresh from a few pints in the Excelsior on Friday evening as the planned cricket final we were going to was cancelled with weather being so shite as usual it was Saturday and that was party day for the girls (mainly Elizabeth.) Due to health and safety olbigations (I was the Unison health and safety rep at one point for the council) it was necessary for me to test all sausage rolls, mini sausages and crisps that were gonna be consumed at the birthday party. As an ex H&S rep I had to make sure I had at least two of each for quality control purposes. Everything tasted fine so the food was ok to serve to the kids. The venue for the part was St Marys church hall on St Mary’s road Garston. It was your typical church hall with wooden beams in the roof and a stage at one end. It had a massive kitchen and oven which was great to prepare the food. I also had to H&S check the chocolate cornflake cakes and sponge cakes. The hall had a back games room which had your traditional musty smell. We had the normal cheesy DJ with the classics coming out “I am a music man” ” Cha cha slide” and the anthem with Mcdonalds , Kentucky Fried chicken and a Pizza Hut in the lyrics. Whatever song that is called. I think my version would be Burger King, Sayers and Pizza Park Garston in my big fat gut. The party went well with all the kids enjoying themselves in what seemed like two hours of random chaos. We brought the cakes out for both birthday girls and come to think of it I have not had any yet although 9am on a Sunday morning is early by even my standards for some cake. Elizabeth’s is below.

Leave a Reply

