15th April, a TWAT of a day.


So the 15th of April comes around yet again and its a day I dont look forward to. 15/04/1989 and its now 21 years since Liverpool fans went to Hillsborough for a F.A.Cup semi final and 96 of them died. I didnt go the match that day but had friends who did and I still remember making the phone calls that evening wondering what I would do if I heard any bad news. All my close friends made it back. There was however one lad who I played football with who did not. His name was Philip Hammond. He was only 14 and I has played in teams with him from Sudley juniors through to APH. He was a good player, that good that he was in the year below us but often played with my year. Hid dad Philip Hammond Senior has been a tireless campaigner for justice for those fans. What a shocking waste of a life, the truth will be told one day and many people need educating about the facts of Hillsborough. Not much more needs to be said today, but remember never buy the sun.

As if by some cruel twist of fate 15/04/2006 came around and after battling cancer for the best part of 10 years my mum finally died after some time in a hospice. She was brave to the end and went through so much in those 10 years and I grab the positives that she seen me get married, and have our Eldest Elizabeth. It pains me that she never got to see Charlotte, and time does heal things a bit but certain dates stick out. Both my daughters have Lillian as a middle name after my mum so they will always remember nana. Just a short blog today and I will be having a drink later on and remember my mum and those footy fans who went to see a match but never returned.

Peace

Fay x x

One thought on “15th April, a TWAT of a day.

  1. Well said Neil.

    And what a lovely sentiment to your Mum…giving both of your lovely girls her name.
    I can’ imagine what it’s like to lose your Mum but my heart goes out to you and yours today.

    xxxc

Leave a Reply

