Holly Grace Eileen Fay born 05.04.12


So that was the bump (Claire’s not mine) after we had been for a final meal at Damon’s as a family of four. Always a strange feeling going to bed knowing what is ahead the next day. So we reported to the womens hospital at 07:30 and down to the luck of the draw when we go down to theatre. With twins due in the next bed we knew we were not going to luck out like with Charlotte and go down first. But it did gives us some extra time to decide on a boys name which we had down to three which were George, Henry or Freddie. So with time passing due to emergencies being done in front of us out estimated time of about 12pm slipped a bit further back. We were getting into mid afternoon and hoping that we would just get delivered today and what would happen with the bank holiday weekend if we didn’t.  Soon the name George had been ditched and it was to be between Lord Henry Fay or cheeky Freddie Fay.  It was eventually about 3.15 when we walked across to theatre. We had decided that if the baby was a boy we would go with Freddie as Henry after having Elizabeth and Charlotte sounded far too posh for us and we didn’t want to end up sounding like Hyancinth Bucket introducing our kids. So Claire went in to start the operation and I was left to put my scrubs on in the room. Despite NHS cuts the room was a touch bigger this time. With our two previous births I was left in what could only be described as a cupboard. By 4pm I was walked in to see Claire and thankfully didn’t have to walk past the goal end where the caesarean was tanking place or I would’ve hit the deck with a large thud. So with a lot of action down the other end and the excellent staff talking you through the procedure (and taking action photo’s for you) soon we heard the first cry of the newborn and the wrapped up bundle was brought up to us. A quick reveal of the blanket and it was to be a baby girl. Holly Grace Eileen Fay born at 16:16 on 05/04/2012 weighing in at 7 pounds 4. Now by my own admission Eileen is a terrible name but with my other two daughters having a middle name of Lillian after my late mum it was time to honour my nan who died last year. I lived with her for ten years and also bought the house in that period one which we will be moving back into in the next few months. Claire was pregnant with Holly but my nan never got to find out about another great-grandchild. Mixed with the joy of the moment is also a hint of sadness and this will be the second daughter that my mum never got to see but to keep this on a positive vibe I can at least be thankful she got to see Elizabeth for over a year and I am sure my mum would be a very proud nana today.

So with Claire in recovery I made all the proud daddy phone calls and sorting out the wetting the babies head session. With three daughters now on the go I was thinking I will need to get down to B&Q at some point to get a large shed to kit out with a fridge and Sky Sports and I will pass money out through a letter box to the awaiting posse of females. Then people were mentioning all the weddings I would be liable to pay for in the future as well. Hmmmmm well in the words of a Seasick Steve song “I started out with nothing and i’ve still got most of it left”

So with Claire back on the ward for a bit it was then things went off plan. I wont go into the details but I had to press the emergency button for the midwife at which point what seemed like half the hospital ran in and I was asked to stand outside with Holly. I then noticed people from delivery suite had raced over as well but soon went back making me think the problem wasn’t as bad as it looked. But it was a scary moment and cutting a long story short Claire ended back up on delivery suite and was back on the ward the next day and everything returned to normal. So due to this I cancelled wetting the babies head, even I know when things are more important than a bevvy.

So the kids got to see their new sister for a bit on Thursday and a lot more on Friday and we had all the visitors we wanted. The thing with it being out third you can take control of visiting etc which when you have your first becomes a bit of a scrum and chaos for the time in hospital and coming home. This time around it was organised hospital visiting and no home visits until we are all settled in. Claire was given the option to come home yesterday but with the night back on delivery opted for an extra night to recover and spend time with Holly. That gave me a last Saturday night with a few beers and M&S finest crisps watching the golf in 3D. So its easter Sunday today and the kids have had chocolate for breakfast and no doubt lunch and tea. I had put a request out for people to not buy the kids eggs but instead pop a bargain booze voucher in a card but the chocolate mountain is growing.

So all being well its home time today and all change ahead for the last time with Mrs Fay having her tubes snipped (and being shown them in a jar in theatre) there will be no ickle Fay IV for us and I have the added bonus of my crown jewels being untouched. So onwards to lack of sleep, shitty nappies and wait of a few weeks you even get your first smile. But time will pass fast and my tactic of having an extra kid to tap up a tenner off to go out for a pint has worked. Before me and Claire got married I always wanted three kids and I always predicted that I would end up with three girls and the prophecy has come true. It must be scientific fact that excess cans of Red Stripe and M&S’s finest Beef & Onion crisps must make the male sperms lazy.

So an emotional, tiring and happy few days had by us all. many thanks for all the cards, gifts well wishes etc that we have and will receive. I will put thought of three hormonal teenage girls and a batty mother going through “the change” out of my head for now. I haven’t got much hair left to loose and am looking forward to grabbing every moment with this last baby as things pass you by so quick you don’t get the chance to savour the moment.

For the record I still stand by my statement that Istanbul was for pure elation the highest moment of my life. Child birth comes second but I think about my kids all the time. I am now down to thinking about Istanbul every other day (joke) The kids will give me much, much more pleasure than that Istanbul moment every single day. The way Liverpool FC are at the moment I think Mrs Fay has a better chance of a miracle child birth than Liverpool ever winning a major competition again.

Peace

Fay, Claire, Elizabeth, Charlotte and Holly

X X X

One thought on “Holly Grace Eileen Fay born 05.04.12

Leave a Reply

