Its all nappies, feeding and politics (Armacleggon) and the cup final.


Well its been a busy old few weeks since my last blog with shitty nappies, late feeds and less sleep than normal but Holly is worth every ounce of effort we as parents have to put in. I am trying to embrace every second of fatherhood with the last child I have and enjoy it as the time just races by. Indeed Holly is now four weeks old and we don’t need much of an excuse for a treat in our household so it might by Colin the caterpillar cakes from M&S for us to scoff in celebration. Also been back in work for a fortnight now which hasn’t been as bad as I expected but enough of the baby stuff whats been going on in the big wide world over the last few weeks.

Seems politics is all the news has been about. Now I am no economist, although I did get a “D” at A level economics but could we not all see this double dip recession coming ? See previous blog HERE¬†The economic gloom is set to continue for a long time yet. I however am planning to spend my way put of it and went the chippy last night and got an extra sausage. Then the curse of Jeremy Hunt strikes again. Often referred to as Jeremy Cunt by accident. See previous blog HERE¬†Well once a cunt always a cunt (apologies for the c bomb) Just do us all a favour and resign although the longer it drags out the better if only Labour had a leader to hammer home the advantage. Once again poor old Keith Murdoch or Rupert as we like to call him was being all forgetful and confused looking at various items relating to his appearance at the Leveson enquiry. For a tiny moment I did feel sorry for poor old Rupe as he is 81 and should really be at home watching homes under the hammer and scoffing a nice Mr Kipling’s cake. Then reality soon bit my arse and I hope the **nt gets turned over and brings a few others down with him. Now extra meetings with another **nt Mr Cameron are coming into the domain. Interesting times. I spent an entire day listening to a mixture of the Leveson enquiry, prime Minister questions and Jeremy Hunt’s speech to the commons whilst working. ¬†A nerdy day indeed. ¬†This really is a blog full of **nts today. ¬†Lets face facts politics from government to local government is rotten to the core. We need a new party for the people and the by-election at Bradford the other week proved there is a gap although I am not sure a parliament of George Galloway’s is the answer.

So the local elections were on Thursday and the nerd in me loves a good election but due to work I didn’t do my normal trick of staying up half the night to watch the election coverage but to be honest with many of the votes not being counted until Friday it wasnt worth it but with the coverage I had watched it was clear that Labour were going to make gains. By the time I was back in work on Friday it was clear that “Armacleggon” was on the cards and here in Liverpool that was evident. The Lib Dems suffered losses. Now I do feel sorry for some of them here at a local level because I have voted Lib Dem in the past at local level as they have has some very good councillors. But national decisions have left them hung out to dry and even the Liverpool Lib Dem leader Paula Keaveney lost her seat. A decent local candidate butchered from above for Clegg’s decision to get shafted by Cameron. I wont waffle on much more but one of the best shouts I heard was that the massive swing to Labour in seats was due to the electorate kicking out at the current government because when they voted in the general election nobody voted for a condem pact and here was a chance to show this. The Lib Dems are dead even jumping out of bed today with the Tories wont help them. All that hard work gone for whiff of power or should I say Cameron and Osbourne’s backsides.

So its cup final day today and I was awake at 06:30 not to go to Wembley but the baby had wind ! I love the FA Cup but just like football itself its going down the pan and isn’t the spectacle it once was. My first cup final I can remember was Spurs v Man City in 1981 and I remember being told to keep the noise down as I watched it as my mum was in bed after nights. Fast forward and 1986 and me and my old man were in the Everton end (thanks to tickets of Peter Reid’s old man) and as Everton went one nil up my dad said to me as soon as the match finishes we are off. So at the end of the match I naively asked my dad are we ready to go. I think an expletive followed including the words “were going nowhere” as Liverpool had won 3-1 to nail the double. ¬†Another cup final memory was after Owen scored the second against Arsenal in the second leg of the cup treble and what happened¬†can only be described as a large group of men on a living room floor.¬†My latest cup final memory of the last time we won it against West Ham after Gerrard’s wonder goal the TV in The New York bar went off during penalties and we all legged it to Yate’s or the bookies to see the last few pens leaving my poor dad stranded in the boozer, but the TV came back on for the reds lifting the cup. ¬†Hope todays cup final is a good one and knowing Liverpool’s record of finals its bound to be a good one (kiss of death) Come on you mighty reds.

Peace

Fay x x x

Leave a Reply

