Marathon inspiration. Blisters, aches and now sponsor me.


So last night I finally gave into temptation. In the whole of Feb and seven days in March I had managed to stay off the grog apart from two days in Warsaw. So OK then in the two days in Warsaw I most probably consumed enough ale for the whole of February but I had done well to stay off the grog. But last night after a gentle 5 mile training run I decided enough was enough and I would have a bottle of wine with the missus ( 1 each like ) So for those of you who don’t know back in November I decided I would run the Liverpool half marathon on March 23rd and then push on and do the Liverpool rock & roll marathon on May 25th. So what prompted me to do this. Apologies if you have heard this for about the 20th time but some readers might not of. Back in the mid 80’s when my dad was over 20 stone and turned 40 in the February he said he was going to do the Liverpool marathon in September. Oh how we chuckled. His first run was around Sefton Park in Liverpool and started by the swings in Aigburth Vale and he had to stop some 200m later as he reached the iron bridge !! Fast forward to September and he was a good few stone lighter and finished the full marathon in just under 4 hours 30. After the race he challenged me to complete a marathon when I was 40. I was just into my teenage years and the thought of being 40 was light years away and my aim in life then would have been to lose my virginity again light years away ! So sadly my dad died in September 2012 and I announced that I would do a marathon in honour of him when I was 40. So in September 2013 I reached 40 and in November started training for the races.

Just a gentle start kicked off my training with the idea of kicking on after chrimbo. I mean hardly worth doing that much to put any weight loss back on (and more) over the festive period and come the new year the scales of justice indeed said I was the fattest I had ever been. 18stone 10 for the record and confirmation if it was ever needed that sausage rolls and Desperado’s do indeed go straight to the hips, or belly in my case. So new year training went well until around the middle of January I got a bad chest infection which caused me to miss 3 weeks worth of running which included a failed attempt in which I got some dodgy chest pains and had visions of dropping dead on the spot. The half marathon was now in the balance. I ripped up my jogging plans and created a new one which was shit or bust for the half marathon. Things started to get back on track and I thought I would invest in a new pair of trainers which might help me now I was reaching 10 miles in training. How wrong I was. Some killer blisters and after just 4 runs in my new trabs I abandoned them for the old ones yesterday and put in the fastest mile times of my training so far and no new blisters and minimal pain off my old ones. It felt like I was back. So the first leg of my challenge is just over a fortnight away and it will be 12 miles tomorrow with my new jogging belt which will be armed with some Lucozade sport and energy gels. The scales of justice say I have lost over a stone now and hopefully more will drop off as I build up to 20 miles in training. It is quite hard to plan runs once you get to the higher distances but I have worked out that the big 20 miler will see me get the train to Ainsdale and then jog home, christ that seems a long way !!

photo

Not only do I want to do the marathon’s for myself and my dad I am also gonna try and raise some sponsorship as well. In time honoured tradition I have set up a just giving page http://www.justgiving.com/faymondo The charity I have chosen is Christie’s hospital MORE INFO HERE Back in 1996 my mum was diagnosed with ovarian cancer and the prognosis was not good. With the help of Christie’s hospital and the amazing courage of my mum she defied all the odds and lived for an amazing 10 extra years. Years in which she managed to see me get married and have our first child, something I thought she would never get to see. My dad during this time had lung cancer and after mum died suffered from a brain tumour all of which he beat but the general toll on his health was too much in the end. So I since the age of 23 cancer sadly had played a part in my life. Anyway thats the end of the sob story and if you could spare whatever you can even if it is just £1 any monies raised with give me great satisfaction as I cross the line. I have not set a target on the Just Giving page as what will be will be and thanks in advance to anybody who sponsors me.

So early night tonight in preparation for tomorrows long jog. The feet will hurt over the next few months, the muscles will ache, hopefully my pants get looser and I nail the 26 and bit miles and raise a couple of quid in the process. But most important to me will be the fact I  know my old man would have been very proud x x x

Peace

Fay x x x x x

Leave a Reply

