Exclusive inside the old Otterspool cafe.


Just a short blog tonight as I just want to get the pictures out there. The other day I spotted the old Otterspool cafe had been broken into. First time I had ever seen this and I always thought how amazing it was this place hadn’t been wrecked. Sadly it might now. So tonight whilst walking the dog I popped in with my iPhone to take some pictures. Didn’t venture too far in as the dog wasn’t keen and I was wary the building could be laced with asbestos ? As a kid I can only ever remember the cafe being open briefly but I do remember a series of “Why don’t you” being filmed in there back in the 80’s. Indeed a Facebook friend of mine was one of the kids in that series. The cafe itself is situated at the bottom of some steps where at the top once stood a mansion and also the old “Otters Pool” came in from the river filling the hollow of the current field. I am assuming the cafe was built in the 1950’s around the same time as the construction of the promenade ? Would love any extra info to be left in the comment section on this blog. Might pop down with my better camera and post some update pictures. Just hope it gets boarded back up and doesn’t end up in a pile of ashes. Strangely the old cafe is like an icon from my youth having spent many innocent and then not so innocent (Merrydown cider) days down there as a child ao I would be sad to see it wrecked

More info on Otterspool here http://www.roydenhistory.co.uk/mrlhp/local/otterspool/otters.htm

Click on any picture below for a larger version

 

Original Otterspool cafe

Old Otterspool Cafe 2

Old Otterspool Cafe 3

Old Otterspool Cafe 5

Old Otterspool Cafe 6

Old Otterspool Cafe 7

Old Otterspool Cafe 8

 

There was a small side room I never made it into so will try next time I am done there but hopefully it will be boarded up. Below are some old pics I have taken in December 2010 of the cafe.

Otterspool Cafe December 2010

DSC06011

 

Update 26.08.15

I did report this to the council last night and a local councillor had read my blog and said he would chase it up as his end. I popped down there on my lunch with my camera hoping the council had been super efficient but they had not. On the plus side I got inside and took more photo’s and ventured into the storage room at the back with either side had smaller rooms which I assume were toilets at some point. The old counter was still in the main room and behind that an old fridge. I took my daughter down for backup and also so one day she could tell her kid how her and grandad once went inside this building !! She didn’t venture too far is as she is 11 tomorrow and I think she was scared she might not see her birthday.  I thought I would take more external ones as if the building does bite the dust there is a record of it in its final days. Hopefully the council will get it made safe ASAP. New pictures posted below and again click on for a larger image.

Old Otterspool Cafe

DSC08555

Old Otterspool Cafe

Old Otterspool Cafe

Old Otterspool Cafe

Old Otterspool Cafe

Old Otterspool Cafe

Old Otterspool Cafe

Old Otterspool Cafe

Old Otterspool Cafe

Old Otterspool Cafe

Old Otterspool Cafe

Old Otterspool Cafe

Old Otterspool Cafe

Old Otterspool Cafe

Old Otterspool Cafe

Old Otterspool Cafe

Old Otterspool Cafe

Old Otterspool Cafe

Old Otterspool Cafe

Old Otterspool Cafe

Old Otterspool Cafe

Old Otterspool Cafe

Old Otterspool Cafe

Old Otterspool Cafe

Old Otterspool Cafe

Old Otterspool Cafe

Old Otterspool Cafe

Old Otterspool Cafe

Old Otterspool Cafe

Old Otterspool Cafe

Old Otterspool Cafe

Old Otterspool Cafe

Old Otterspool Cafe

Old Otterspool Cafe

Old Otterspool Cafe

 

Peace

Fay x x x x x x x

 

One thought on “Exclusive inside the old Otterspool cafe.

Leave a Reply

