A Trip To Iceland Part 2 ( I cheated death ! )


So the second half of the Iceland trip and this time it was up fairly early for a trip to The Blue Lagoon. No better way to shake of a 4am finish on the grog then to go to a lovely geo-thermal spa. The Blue Lagoon geothermal spa is one of the most visited attractions in Iceland. The spa is located in a lava field in Grindavík on the Reykjanes Peninsula, southwestern Iceland. The warm waters are rich in minerals like silica and sulfur and bathing in the Blue Lagoon is reputed to help some people suffering from skin diseases such as psoriasis. The water temperature in the bathing and swimming area of the lagoon averages 37–39 °C (99–102 °F). The Blue Lagoon also operates a research and development facility to help find cures for other skin ailments using the mineral-rich water. So on entering the lagoon you are given a swanky wrist band that pays for everything and we also went deluxe and paid extra for a towel and bathrobe. Lets face facts the old red Speedo’s were making their public debut and needed covering up most of the time. So I derobed myself and the normal outside temperature was about 10c and there was wall to wall glorious sunshine. Due to the thermal heat you I could quite easily stand in just my Speedo’s. So I entered the lagoon and it did look beautiful with steam rising off the top of the water and if anything the water was too warm for me and last nights grog started to sweat out of me. It was a lovely relaxing experience though I drew the line at getting the free face pack. I did however go to the bar in the pool but opted for a diet coke as I remembered the adverts “Don’t drink and Spa” Soon the heat and chilled atmosphere of the lagoon had me feeling very tired and I went for a lie down in just my robe and managed to get about an hours sleep ! The only downside for me is that the lagoon was man-made. I was expecting it to be a natural spring like feature but it is really just the waste geo thermal water from the power plant next door. We spent the whole day there and everybody was suitably relaxed and freshened up feeling a bit younger all apart from me who had developed early onset manflu. Only I could go to a get thermal spa and catch a cold. Obviously too much goodness going on for my pie arse body and immune system. It was a quiet night in and I was just about to go to bed when I checked out the back of the house and there were some feint northern lights on show. Me and James legged it down to the darker sea front about 5 mins away from out house and were treated to a spectacular display which I caught on my good camera. To think I might have gone to bed and missed that. We really had struck lucky with a third night out of three display of the lights.

Blue Lagoon Iceland

Blue Lagoon Iceland

So our final official full day was Wednesday and I took the chance to have a nice 5 mile walk out to a lighthouse on my own taking in the brisk Icelandic morning air and seeing some stunning natural beauty despite coughing and spluttering after my day of health before ! We spent the day on the traditional red open top tourist bus that most capital and big cities have. Though no open top due to the weather. We stopped of at an Icelandic shopping centre but such was the price of everything you couldn’t even begin to think about buying everything. I reckon Iceland’s pound land is about £5.86 per item. We seen the house where there was a summit on nuclear peace talks involving President Reagan and Soviet leader Mikhail Gorbachev. To top the bus trip off we seen an Iceland supermarket in Iceland !!  That evening the lights were being dimmed in the city as a spectacular display of the northern lights was due. We finished off with some Icelandic fish and chips (Just chips for me) and had a few drinks then headed down to the sea to watch the northern lights so their stuff armed with a few cans picked up from our house on the way home. The lights appeared again (4 out of 4 nights) and though not as good as they were hyped up to be I managed to get a few snaps on my camera and we headed home to warm up and kill the last of the Viking beer we had in the fridge. Bowie hour was brought forward to 12.30am as we were feeling the pace. It genuinely is hard work being a piss head and a tourist ! (Click on an pics for a larger version)

Reykjavik Northern Lights

Reykjavik Northern Lights

So Thursday and home day. Thankfully we got the keep of the house on for free so had until 6pm to potter about. I decided to go on my solo walk in the morning this time taking in the sights of Reykjavik city centre and its beautiful architecture. I was on my way home and waling through a wooden tunnel that had been created for pedestrians as there was building work going on and no pavement. I heard an alright crash and men shouting. I looked up but couldn’t see anything but heard a collapsing noise. Fuck me was the building coming down ? I was ready to jump over the barrier into the road if things got worse. Just in the distance at the end f the walkway I could see people running away and more crashing. It then went calm and numerous men from an adjoining building site came running towards us. As I got out of the wooden section of walkway I could see that a giant crane had collapsed and come down just missing a hot dog stall and two young girls were in tears ( I later read they had to jump from the bench they were sitting on to miss the crane) Luckily nobody was injured but I call that a lucky escape just a bit earlier and I would have been coming out where the crane was collapsing and who knows what might have happened. In my life I have had six lives (Ask me when you see me for more details) and I class this as number 7. I am only 43 and have two lives of my nine spare. Jesus Christ ! I got back to the house and told them about my near miss and was laughing saying “How long would it have been before you all started moaning where has he gone we want to go out for the day and the inconsiderate bastard isn’t back form his walk” I would have been squashed under a fallen crane ! So the pic below I took later on when we all went down for a nose and I relived my seventh life. I was to come out the wooden tunnel on the left a few seconds after the crane had fallen. Scary shit la !

Reykjavik crane collapse

So me and Mrs Fay went up Hallgrímskirkja parish church in Reykjavík, Iceland. At 73 metres (244 ft), it is the largest church in Iceland and had breathtaking views though it was just a large concrete block and showing visible signs of wear and tear at the bottom. The church can be seen on the right of the picture below and view from one side of the top also below. We headed home and it was time to chill before our airport transfer and back home in Liverpool for about 2am. By now it was full on red alert manflu and I am still trying to shake it off over a week later. Never going a health spa in my life again ! So thanks to my sister for organising the trip and to the in laws for looking after the gang (3 kids, 2 dogs and 4 fish) Thats the passport packed away well until two weeks and a trip to Lisbon. All go eh !

Hallgrímskirkja parish church

View from Hallgrímskirkja

For the record it was cracking house we stayed in with all mod cons and we believe the daughter of a famous Icelandic photographer/author Sigurgeir Sigurjonsson. Any boss fridge, cracking wifi and Apple TV. What more do you want ?

Peace

Fay x x x x x x x x

One thought on “A Trip To Iceland Part 2 ( I cheated death ! )

Leave a Reply

