2016 a review, twas alright la (death, death, Brexit, death, death, Trump, death, death )


 

2016 death, death, Brexit, death, death, Trump, death, death

So lets nail this. OK loads of “celeb” deaths. I now measure years not in numbers but just by the taken for granted points of (A) I have my own health (B) My friends and family have good health and (C) Nobody close to me has died. So on that level 2016 was a success. Ok so Princess Leia died and the very talented Colin Vearncombe (AKA Black of “Wonderful Life” fame) were a couple of the numerous people to die in 2016 but apart from a glancing “Awwwwwwww” in the grand scheme of things it means fuck all to me however sad it is. Onto Brexit and I voted leave. No I am not some closet racist (Despite my initials being NF) Too complex to go into on here (And its getting a bit boring) but happy to discuss it over a pint with anybody who wants to as long as it’s good old English Ale served by a white man (I jest of course) and finally The Donald (Trump) well all I can say about that is I made a few bob by betting on him and should have piled on when he went to 8/1 about 1am UK time. If only Obi Wan Kenobi had said to me “let go your conscious self and act on instinct.” I wish I had as chrimbo would have been paid for.

So here is the review of 2016 as seen through the eyes of this music, Desperados, Sausage roll and now Vodka & Irn Bru loving rogue. Click on some links to read the blogs mentioned if like most the people in the world you havent read them.

January

So the year started off with me watching 10 films I must see as picked over a pint on Chrimbo Eve 2015. Most were shite but two I liked were ‘The good, the bad and the ugly” and “On The Waterfront” beat that Barry Norman (Did he die in 2016 ? ) Despite being on peak marathon training mode I end up staying up past midnight on the grog watching Ping Pong on Sky Sports ?? One of my fave bands The Christians released their new single “mother” and my late mother appeared in the video below (at 1:37) and a young me gegged in on her posthumous fame. I also decided to run the Manchester marathon for Down Syndrome Liverpool and marathon training took over my life.

February

The month started off with my 28th annual music awards quickly followed by the first trip away of the year to Stuttgart in Germany. Beers a plenty and laughs even more and remembered for the home made Top Trumps I made of the lads going. I turned to the dark side this month playing Darth Vader for my nephews birthday. I also recalled a 15 year old me 

Darth Fay

March

More looking back and to times of endless viewing of QVC Marathon training was entering its serious phase of 22 miles ughhhhh but another medal earned in the Liverpool Half marathon. It was also the month we said goodbye to Cream in Liverpool. All the memories within those walls shattered but thankfully not captured on social media or in picture form. Just upstairs in our heads where frankly they are the safest. I was already blogging about “The Great Euro Conundrum” what a boring bastard.

Cream club demolition 3

April

April started with the as ever excellent Threshold Festival in Liverpool but was quickly followed up by the big event of the year and the Greater Manchester Marathon I finished in a time of 04:48:31 which was under my five hour target. I can’t say how pleased I was with that and easily up there with the admittedly few achievements I have done in life. I also managed to raise £478.15 for Down Syndrome Liverpool which I was equally chuffed with as I wasnt going to bother with raising money but was glad I was persuaded to. As with every year April 15th is once again a twat of a day the anniversary of Hillsborough and my mum passing away. More medals at the port Sunlight 10k and my own tribute to Prince

Scouse purple bin tribute to Prince

May

Not content with a wife, three daughters, five fish and a dog we got another puppy called Zuma and so May was spent in puddles of piss and small poo’s dotted around the house and that was just me after 8 Desperados. The rock and roll marathon was completed but this time I helped Mrs Fay’s sister (Emma) around the course and it was nice to enjoy a race for once instead of headphones in running like a twat looking for a personal best.

June

June was of course dominated by the referendum and Brexit aftermath Glastonbury 2016. How can I forget waking up and the person in the tent next door going “Fucking hell we voted to leave and cameron has resigned” My cunning post Brexit plan was going like a dream that was until the Labour party turned on itself. As ever I blogged daily from the farm and it wasnt a vintage year due to the mud but highlights included Underworld, Stereo Mc’s and Earth Wind & Fire. Oh and like the tit I am I left £600 quids worth of camera gear on a gate post by some bins on the way home only to be happily reunited with it the next day as a few hours later a friend of ours walked past the same gatepost and checked for me and it was still there !! The month eneded in sadness as one of my best mates dad died and I posted the blog “I cried today for the first time since I don’t know when” RIP Joe Lawler.

July

July went all The Southbank Show as I visited the cracking ADP Riot tour at The Florrie in Liverpool pic below. The Speedo challenge was also set AKA holiday diet and if I lost enough weight I would sport some Speedo’s on our family holiday. Highlight of the month was a trip to London with the family and a gig at The Royal Opera house to see The Pet Shop Boys and it was fucking ace.

The ADP Riot tour The Florrie Liverpool

August

The Liverpool massive was out to see the last great hope in Jeremy Corbyn and his visit to Liverpool. It was holiday month and a trip to Albufeira with the family and Clampett’s The In-Laws. It was a cracking holiday and the Speedo’s make a surprise appearance despite me not losing the weight I wanted to. Such was the Speedo success I took numerous pictures of me in various poses and created a calendar and sent it to the mother in law as a surprise gift. The calendar hangs on their kitchen wall and the blog to celebrate it marked my 500th blog. (Marathon running legs them)

Faymondo Speedo Calendar Feb 2017

September

Craig David (Minus Kes) was blasting around the streets of Aigburth as there was a festival down the prom who’s name I have already forgot. I turned 43 and was more Deep Heat 2016 than Deep Heat 1990 I got some cracking birthday prezzies though and your only as old as the woman you feel (What kind of saying is that) so than makes me 41.

October 

Well I felt like Judith Chalmers (Is she dead ? ) as first up was an amazing trip to Iceland (Technically end of Sept but for blog purposes October) for my nephews 30th birthday and twin niece and nephew’s 18th birthday. I have always wanted to go to Iceland and it was one deffo ticked off the list. We even nailed the northern lights on numerous occasions oh and I nearly got squashed to death by a building crane ! Blogs here Part 1 Part 2 On that trip I also got the great news that I was going to become a Great Uncle AKA great Uncle knobhead. More of that to come in May this year. Trip two was to Lisbon with the lads (See how I avoided cheap Iceland Shopping and Lisbon pub gags) again it was such a funny and drunken trip with some football thrown in and undoubtedly one of the highlights of the year finding some house party about 3am in the suburbs of Lisbon. The picture paints a thousand words and despite being on the ale for god knows how many hours and it being about 5am we were still loving life.

Portugal house party DJ.

November 

A review of the up and coming Louis Berry from Halloween was posted. I hope he goes onto massive things in 2017. There was a supermoon and I took some arty pictures but after the month of October with trips away it was a clam before the storm that is December and Chrimbo ho ho ho. Oh yeah nice one for the winnings Mr Trump.

December

I got to see the mighty new stand at Liverpool and very impressive it is. The rest of December was spent moaning as its now traditional for Meldrew fay to have an advent calendar on which for 24 days I get to moan about something. Ok so every 7 days I give you a treat as I don’t moan all the time just most of the time. 1-12 here 13-24 here 

So there we have it 2016 trips to Stuttgart, Glastonbury, Albufeira, Reykjavik and Lisbon. Kids growing up fast and another year married to Mrs Fay x. Numerous gigs and other events and when you look back on it life isn’t too bad. Ups and down kidda’s ups and downs. I turned model and released my very own Faymondo Speedo calendar and at the second attempt I nailed a sub five hour marathon and raised a few bob for “Charidee” at the same time.

Thanks for reading this bollocks and hopefully many more posts to come for 2017 and we will enter the 9th year of blogging come July. Glastonbury 2017 is booked but as yet I might be going on my own. Wish us luck in the great ticket hunt in April.

Peace

Fay x x x x x x x x

 

Leave a Reply

